Kolkata Knight Riders Team IPL 2019; Here’s Everything You Need To Know About The Team

Kolkata Knight Riders team IPL 2019; Here's Everything You Need To Know About The Team

           The Kolkata Knight Riders is a franchise cricket team in the Indian Premier League representing the city of Kolkata. Bollywood actor Shahrukh Khan, actress Juhi Chawla and her spouse Jay Mehtamutually owned the franchise. Jacques Kallis is the team head coached. The home of the Knight Riders is Eden Gardens, which is considered to be the largest cricket stadium in India and the second largest in the world as per the seating capacity.

Even though the team has gained huge admiration due to its association with celebrity owners but at the same time, it was bounded with controversy and poor on-field performance especially throughout the first three years of the competition.

The team’s performance, on the other hand, enhanced from the fourth season as it qualified for the IPL playoffs. They ultimately became the IPL Champions for the first time in the year 2012 after defeating Chennai Super Kings in the final. That’s not it; they again repeated the feat in the 2014 IPL edition after defeating Kings XI Punjab. The Knight Riders also hold the title for the longest winning streak as per any Indian team in T20s.

Gautam Gambhir is the leading run-scorer of the team as well as Sunil Narine as the leading wicket-taker. The official theme of the team is Korbo, Lorbo, Jeetbo Re which means we will perform, fight and win! and the official colors of the team are purple and gold. The brand value of the Knight Riders was projected at $99 million in the year 2017 which is the second highest among IPL franchises.

Today, through this article we are going to give you some major details regarding the team from its staff members to the schedule of KKR in this year IPL edition so, let’s gets started….

KKR Management and Support Staff

Owners – Shahrukh Khan (Red Chillies Entertainment) – 55% shareholder, in partnership with Jay Mehta and Juhi Chawla (Mehta Group) – 45% shareholder

CEO and Managing Director – Venky Mysore

Head coach – Jacques Kallis

Assistant coach – Simon Katich

Mentor – Abhishek Nayar

Fast bowling coach – Omkar Salvi

Spin bowling coach – Carl Crowe

Physiotherapist – Andrew Leipus

Physical trainer – Adrian Le Roux

Data and video analyst – AR Srikkanth

KKR Full Squad:

Dinesh Karthik (c), Robin Uthappa, Chris Lynn, Joe Denly, Nitish Rana, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Shubman Gill, Harry Gurney, Piyush Chawla, Nikhil Naik, Kuldeep Yadav, Prasidh Krishna, Rinku Singh, Anrich Nortje, Carlos Brathwaite, Shrikant Mundhe, Lockie Ferguson, Yarra Prithviraj, Sandeep Warrier

KKR Primary Playing XI:

Sunil Narine,  Robin Uthappa,  Chris Lynn, Kuldeep Yadav, Shubman Gill, Nitish Rana, Sunil Narine, Dinesh Karthik, Piyush Chawla, Andre Russell, Sandeep Warrier

KKR IPL Overall Results Statistics

YearPlayedWinsLossesTiedNRWin %Position

Kolkata Knight Riders Schedule in IPL 2019:

Match 1:

Kolkata Knight Riders vs Sunrisers Hyderabad

24 March 2019 (Sunday, 4 pm)

Eden Gardens, Kolkata


Match 2:

Kolkata Knight Riders vs Kings XI Punjab

27 March 2019 (Wednesday, 8 pm)

Eden Gardens, Kolkata


Match 3:

Delhi Capitals vs Kolkata Knight Riders

30 March 2019 (Saturday, 8 pm)

Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi


Match 4:

Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Kolkata Knight Riders

5 April 2019 (Friday, 8 pm)

M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru

Spread the love

You might like

Carrie Brunner

About the Author: Carrie Brunner