Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Major Highlights And Live Updates Of Phase 3 Voting

           Lok Sabha Election 2019 Phase 3 Highlights: Lok Sabha elections 2019 conducted its Phase 3 voting on Tuesday, April 23, covering 116 constituencies. The third and largest phase of Lok Sabha elections marks a high voter turnout, comprising over 80 percent in Assam also including the complaints of EVM malfunctioning in several states and killing of a man outside a booth in West Bengal.

Earlier, the Lok Sabha elections 2019 was started from April 11 with its phase 1 voting for ninety-one seats as well as Phase 2 elections on April 18 for 95 parliamentary constituencies in 11 states and a Union Territory. The result for the same will be announced on 23 May 2019 after which the Prime Minister will be chosen by members of the largest party or alliance.

On April 11, in Phase 1 election, the ninety-one seats spread across 18 states and two union territories started the polls in the first phase which included Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, Uttarakhand, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim, Lakshadweep, Andaman, and Nicobar Islands and Telangana. While on the other hand, the Phase 2 voting was held in Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Jammu and Kashmir, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Manipur, Odisha, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, and Puducherry.

Lok Sabha Election 2019 Phase 3 Highlights & Live Updates-

Here are some of the major highlights of Lok Sabha elections 2019 of Phase 3 voting:

Seats for Phase 3 Voting

23 April 2019

  1. Assam: 4 seats
  2. Bihar: 5 seats
  3. Chhattisgarh: 7 seats
  4. Gujarat: 26 seats
  5. Goa: 2
  6. Jammu and Kashmir: 1 seat
  7. Karnataka: 14 seats
  8. Kerala: 20 seats
  9. Maharashtra: 14 seats
  10. Odisha: 6 seats
  11. Uttar Pradesh: 10 seats
  12. West Bengal: 5 seats
  13. Dadra and Nagar Haveli: 1 seat
  14. Daman and Diu: 1 seat 
ALSO READ  Black Friday 2019 Sale: The Absolute Best Deals Online Right Now!

PM Modi’s wife Jashodaben casts her vote in Gujarat

The wife of Prime Minister Narendra Modi that is Jashodaben Narendrabhai Modi, on Tuesday cast her vote at a polling booth in Unjha, a town in Gujarat.

After casting her vote she said, “Modi sahab has done a lot for the country, he will do more.”

Polling agent found dead in Bengal

A polling agent named Babulal Murmu, was found dead at his house in Buniadpur, Dakshin Dinajpur. The investigation is going on and more details are yet to be disclosed.

Finance Minister casts his vote

Gujarat: Finance Minister & BJP leader Arun Jaitley casts his vote at a polling booth in Ahmedabad.

EVM Malfunctioning

There were complaints of EVM malfunctioning at a number of booths and were attended to, Chief Electoral Officer L Venkateshwar Lu said in Lucknow. The Samajwadi Party has also lodged a complaint over the alleged malfunctioning of EVMs with the Election Commission, calling it criminal carelessness.

Bombs were thrown outside the booth

Bombs were allegedly hurled outside a booth in Balurghat seat of West Bengal, leading to uproar, he said, adding, central forces also apparently baton charged a gang in Suti area of Jangipur.

Approximate voter turnout till 4 pm:

Odisha: 47.41 per cent

Tripura: 67.12 per cent

Uttar Pradesh: 47.41 per cent

West Bengal: 68.25 per cent

Chhattisgarh: 55.29 per cent

Dadra and Nagar Haveli: 56.81 per cent

Daman and Diu: 55.02 per cent

Assam: 62.13 per cent

Bihar: 46.94 per cent

Goa: 58.92 per cent

Gujarat: 50.40 per cent

Jammu and Kashmir: 11.22 per cent

ALSO READ  Hyundai Launches Digital Keys To Unlock Cars Using A Smarphone

Karnataka: 50.18 per cent

Kerala: 56.58 per cent

Maharashtra: 45.12 per cent

A presiding officer removed for forcing people to vote for SP

The presiding officer was removed at a booth in Etah after people blamed him of pushing them to cast their votes in support of the SP. SP leader Ahmed Nafis was taken into custody for few hours in Kasganj in Etah after authorities expected break of peace.

Final voter turnout as per the Election Commission:

#Chhattisgarh: 68.62%

#Karnataka: 65.29%

#Gujarat: 61.71%

#Goa: 71.34%

#Kerala: 76.35%

#West Bengal: 79.36%

#Jammu and Kashmir: 12.86%

#Assam: 79.16%

#Bihar: 59.97%

#Maharashtra: 57.53%

#Tripura: 78.67%

#Odisha: 58.18%

#Uttar Pradesh: 58.91%

#Dadra and Nagar Haveli: 71.43%

#Daman and Diu: 65.34%

Spread the love