2019 NCAA Tournament; Format, Full Schedule And Locations

2019 NCAA Tournament; Format, Full Schedule And Locations

           The NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament is a single-elimination competition played every single spring in the United States. The tournament is also known popularly known as NCAA March Madness which currently features 68 college basketball teams from the Division I level of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA), in order to decide the national championship.

The contest was formed back in the year 1939 and the one who created it was the National Association of Basketball Coaches. It was basically the idea of The Ohio State University coach Harold Olsen.

The tournament is mostly played during the month of March. With time, the competition has become one of the most prominent yearly sporting events in the United States. The competition teams comprise champions from 32 Division I conferences as well as 36 teams which are given at-large berths.

The NCAA tournament is divided into four regions and every single region has about sixteen teams, but four extra teams are further added as per the decision of the Selection Committee.

Before now the NCAA Men’s Basketball Selection Committee has specified college basketball fans perception of what the best four seeds in every single region may possibly look like with the third yearly Bracket Preview Show, that discovered Duke, Tennessee, Virginia and Gonzaga in place of the four anticipated No. 1 seeds.

NCAA tournament playoffs are going to be officially commence with the First Four in Dayton, Ohio, where there will be two games on March 19 as well as March 20. The first round of the tournament is going to begin from Thursday, 21 March 2019.

ALSO READ  Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup 2019: Match Details, Schedule And Fixtures!

The TV partners of the 2019 tournament are NCAA March Madness (CBS/TBS/TNT/TruTV), CBS Sports Network (re-airs) and Galavision (Spanish-coverage).

2019 NCAA Tournament Current format

The NCAA has altered the competition format quite a few times since its inauguration, most frequently demonstrating the growth of the number of teams. This section designates the competition as it has functioned since 2011. Since 2011, there is the total number of 68 teams participating in the tournament.

2019 NCAA Tournament Full Schedule

Round: First Four

The First Four is going to commence from 19 March 2019 to 20 March 2019

Round: First Round

The First Round will begin from 21 March 2019 till 22 March 2019

Round: Second Round

The Second Round is going to start from 23 March 2019 and will end on 24 March 2019.

Round: Sweet 16

The Sweet 16 will start from 28 March 2019 and is going to end on 29 March 2019.

Round: Elite Eight

The Elite Eight will commence from 30 March 2019 and is going to conclude on 31 March 2019.

Round: Final Four

The Final Four is going to be held on 6 April 2019.

Round: National Championship

The National Championship will held on April 8


2019 NCAA Tournament locations/Venues

Round: First Four

The location for First Four round is Dayton, OH

Round: First Round

The location for First/Second round are:

Hartford, CT

Salt Lake City, UT

Des Moines, IA

Jacksonville, FL

Tulsa, OK

Columbus, OH

Columbia, SC

San Jose, CA

Round: Sweet 16/Elite Eight

The locations for Sweet 16/Elite Eight round are:

ALSO READ  NHL Player Poll 2019: Best All-Rounder, Underrated And Overrated Players!

Louisville, KY (South Regional)

Anaheim, CA (West Regional)

Washington, D.C. (East Regional)

Kansas City, MO (Midwest Regional)

Round: Final Four/National Championship

The location for Final Four/National Championship is Minneapolis, MN

Spread the love

You might like

Prabhat Singh

About the Author: Prabhat Singh

Prabhat is a consistent and hard working content creator with specialization in tech and finance niche. He has more tha 3 years of experience in the field of content development and blogging. Being an introvert, the online social world has always been his preference.