Lok Sabha Election 2019: Phase 2 Voting Held On April 18, Here’s The Major Highlight

              Lok Sabha Election 2019 Phase 2 Voting Live Updates, News, Results: The most awaited Lok Sabha elections 2019 started from April 11 with its phase 1 voting for ninety-one seats and will go on till May 19 with its phase 7 voting. The result for the same will be announced on 23 May 2019 after which the Prime Minister will be chosen by members of the largest party or alliance.

Yesterday, on April 18, the Polling took place in a total of 95 parliamentary constituencies in 11 states and a Union Territory, in the second phase of the seven-phase Lok Sabha polls. The Phase 2 voting was held in Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Jammu and Kashmir, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Manipur, Odisha, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, and Puducherry.

The Lok Sabha elections 2019 is considered to be the largest democratic election exercise in the world. On April 11, the ninety-one seats spread across 18 states and two union territories started the polls in the first phase which included Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, Uttarakhand, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim, Lakshadweep, Andaman, and the Nicobar Islands and Telangana. The voting for assembly polls was also held on April 1 in the states of Andhra Pradesh, Sikkim, and Arunachal Pradesh and some parts of Odisha.

Here are the major highlights of Lok Sabha elections 2019 of Phase 2 voting:

Seats For Phase 2 voting in the Various States:

18 April 2019

1. Assam: 5 seats

2. Bihar: 5 seats

3. Chhattisgarh: 3 seats

4. Jammu and Kashmir: 2 seats

ALSO READ  India-Pakistan Tension: All Recent Developments And Escalation!

5. Karnataka: 14 seats

6. Maharashtra: 10 seats

7. Manipur: 1 seat

8. Odisha: 5 seats

9. Tamil Nadu: 39 seats

10. Tripura: 1 seat

11. Uttar Pradesh: 8 seats

12. West Bengal: 3 seats

13. Puducherry: 1 seat

Election Commission Ordered An Inquiry

As per to the officials, Election Commission has ordered an investigation after a number of voters in Osmanabad, Maharashtra, recorded their voting procedure at a polling booth and posted videos on social media.

According to the EC guidelines, voters are not permissible to carry their mobile phones within a 100-meter radius of polling stations on the day of voting.

Impressive Voter turnout even after having Naxal presence in Chhattisgarh

A remarkable 69 percent voter exercised their franchise in three of the Lok Sabha constituencies even after having Naxal existence, all through the second phase of Lok Sabha election in Chhattisgarh Thursday, election officials said. Voting initiated in Kanker, Rajnandgaon and Mahasamund constituencies at 7 am.

Congress submitted various complaints regarding malfunctions in EVMs

The Congress says that it has submitted about a total of 33 complaints to the Election Commission about glitches in electronic voting machines (EVMs) at various voting booths across the 10 seats in the state of Maharashtra that are voting in the second phase.

Uttar Pradesh villages boycott polls over development matters

In Uttar Pradesh, the voters in Garhi herbal village of Sadabad have refused to vote due to lack of development in Hathras. In the meantime, people of Bilna village in Amroha also boycott elections.

AIADMK files a complaint against DMK candidate Dayanidhi Maran

The All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) with the chief election commissioner had filed a complaint against Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) candidate Dayanidhi Maran for apparently violating the poll code. The AIADMK suspected that Maran insisted people to cast their votes for a “change for government”. Maran is the DMK’s candidate for Central Chennai Lok Sabha constituency.

ALSO READ  Here Are The Top 7 Best Places To Visit In The New York City

Voter turnout in 2nd phase of Lok Sabha Elections 2019:



Jammu and Kashmir-45.5%





Tamil Nadu-66.36%

Uttar Pradesh-66.06%

West Bengal-76.42%



Spread the love