ICC World Cup 2019: England Announce 15-Member Squad; Jofra Archer Misses Out

             ICC World Cup 2019 England Team Squad: The ICC World Cup is all set to begin its 12th edition from 30 May 2019 where a total number of ten international cricket teams is going to face-off each other till 14 July 2019. England and Wales are going to be the host country for 2019 Cricket World Cup.

As there are few weeks left for this amazing tournament, the teams have started declaring its squad for 2019 Cricket World Cup edition. Team England also declared its squad on April 17, 2019. The selectors of England team have declared 15-man squad including Eoin Morgan as the captain of the team.

England has eliminated Jofra Archer from their squad for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019 at home, as this time they decided to go with the same set of players who performed in the one-day internationals against West Indies previously this year.

However, Archer has been named in the squads for the Ireland and Pakistan one-day internationals and he might possibly, based on his performances, still make it to the ultimate squad in time for the first World Cup match on 30 May.

ICC World Cup 2019: England’s Squad

The 15-man squad of team England includes 6 batsmen, 4 bowlers, and 5 all-rounders. So, here is the list of players that are going to play in the 2019 Cricket World Cup:


Eoin Morgan (c)

Jos Buttler (vc, wk)

Jonny Bairstow (wk)

Alex Hales

Joe Root

ALSO READ  NHL Winter Classic 2019: The Boston Bruins Defeats The Chicago Blackhawks

Jason Roy


Tom Curran

Mark Wood

Liam Plunkett

Adil Rashid


Ben Stokes

David Willey

Chris Woakes

Moeen Ali

Joe Denly

The team is going to starts its match in the tournament on 30 May 2019 against South Africa which will be held on Kennington Oval, London. In the recently held series against the Windies, England had played the same squad. The five-match ODI series had ended in a 2-2 draw with a match being stopped because of the rain.

England selector Ed Smith said in a release, “In line with ICC regulations, we have to name a preliminary squad of 15 for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup before April 23. However, all 17 players named in the Royal London ODIs against Pakistan can stake a claim to be in the final 15-man squad, finalized at the end of that series”

He then further added, “The selection panel has been impressed with Jofra Archer’s performances in domestic and franchise cricket. He is a very talented and exciting cricketer.”

For the ODI series against Pakistan, all-rounder Chris Jordan made it to the 17-man squad along with Archer. Jordan is also going to join the ODI squad for the first time since September 2016 following remarkable performances against Sri Lanka and West Indies in T20 International cricket.

Smith stated in addition, “Chris Jordan, a regular in IT20 squads over the past few years, has continued to develop as a cricketer – as we saw in the IT20s in the West Indies. He fully deserves his return to the ODI squad.”

ALSO READ  Racing Dudes Fantasy League 2019 Official Teams, Rules And Draft Results

England 17-man squad for Pakistan ODIs:

Eoin Morgan (Captain), Moeen Ali, Jofra Archer, Jonny Bairstow (wk), Jos Buttler, Tom Curran, Joe Denly, Chris Jordan, Alex Hales, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.

Spread the love