Google Plus 2nd Data Leak; How To Delete Your Google+ Account?

Google Plus 2nd Data Leak; How To Delete Your Google+ Account?

  Google+ is an Internet based social networking site that is held and run by Google. It was launched on 28 June 2011 and in the present day, Google plus has 111 million active users.

Google recently, on October 2018 announced to close the Google+ social network in 2019 in the month of August. The reason behind the shutting down of Google Plus is low citing of users, Software error and the potential threat of leakage to the database of the users. Meanwhile, even before its closing date, a second immense data breach was exposed, only a few months subsequently the prior one.

Mountain View, a California-based company in their recent blog post that the Google notes are affected by the most recent breach over 52.5 million users worldwide. This is considered to be one of the most widespread breaches in recent time on the web.

Google’s newest data breach has exposed over 100 times more operators to the data leakage when equated to its last data leak. Google’s last data breach affected around 500,000 people around the world. The information involved in the breach comprises personal profile data and did not include financial information or secret code. While a profile breach might be seen as a reduced amount of disastrous of a system breach. This case created severe alarm around Google’s existing security practices for such illegal happenings in the social network.

With the result of this recent breach and looking at the seriousness of the concern, Google now announced a new date for shuttering Google+. Earlier Google+ was announced to be shut down in the month of August, next year but now it will be shutting down in April 2019. The concern was very serious that Google pre-poned the termination of Google+ 4 months before the prior announced date.

Meanwhile, users at present time can also delete their Google+ account on their own before Google does it for you. The second breach within just a couple of months proved that your data is not secured. In order to secure your data, do not wait for Google to remove Google+, do it yourself.

For helping you out, we provide you with the steps to delete your Google+ account. So, without taking much time, let’s have a look.

How to Delete Your Google+ Account

If you’re considering removing your Google+ profile, then follow these easy steps which will get your work done in minutes.

Step 1: Firstly, log in to your Google+ account through www.plus.google.com.

Step 2: Click the hamburger menu icon which is the three horizontal lines in the left corner of the upper screen.

Step 3: Select the given settings option.

Step 4: Scroll down to the account segment, after which select the option ‘Delete Your Google+ Profile’.

Step 5: Confirm your password, check the box that accepts your desire to delete your account. After then click on the Delete button for completing the deleting process.

After following the steps your Google+ account and adjoining personal information will be deleted. After which it is impossible for Google to leak your data to the web. Be aware of these most recent strings of data breaks and remain alert and one step forward.

Spread the love

You might like

Carrie Brunner

About the Author: Carrie Brunner