2019 Wimbledon Championships; Date, Participants, TV, Live Streaming, Prize Money & Much More

                   The Grand Slam tennis tournament is underway and is taking place at the All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club in Wimbledon, London, United Kingdom. The 2019 Wimbledon Championships main tournament started on Monday 1 July 2019 and is going to conclude on Sunday 14 July 2019.

This year, the Grand Slam tennis tournament is a bit different as this year tournament is going to feature a tiebreak at 12 all in the final set for the first time. This year tournament is also marking the last match of Andy Murray, who earlier declared his intention to retire from tennis because of the long battle with hip complications.

The Men’s Singles 2018 Champion who is also the defending champion is Novak Djokovic whereas the Women’s Singles defending Champion is Angelique Kerber.

2019 Wimbledon Championships Participants

2019 Wimbledon Championships; Date, Participants, TV, Live Streaming, Prize Money & Much More

Men’s Singles

Djokovic, Nadal, Federer, Anderson, Thiem, Zverev, Nishikori, Tsitsipas, Isner, Khachanov, del Potro, Fognini, Cilic, Medvedev, Coric, Raonic, Monfils, Basilashvili, Berrettini, Wawrinka, Bautista Agut, Auger-Aliassime, de Minaur, Pella, Paire, Schwartzman, Struff, Shapovalov, Pouille, Edmund, Djere, Lajovic.

Women’s Singles

Osaka, Barty, Pliskova, Bertens, Kerber, Kvitova, Halep, Svitolina, Stephens, Sabalena, Serena, Sevastova, Bencic, Wozniacki, Qiang, Vondrousova, Keys, Konta, Goerges, Kontaveit, Mertens, Vekic, Garcia, Andreescu, Martic, Anisimova, Muguruza, Su-Wei, Kasatkina, Kenin, Suarez Navarro, Tsurenko.

2019 Wimbledon Championships: Broadcasting and Live Streaming

In the UK

Like as usual, the BBC TV Channel is going to showcase the 2019 Wimbledon Championships. For the first time ever, the BBC has broadcasted the competition in Ultra HD last year. All through the tournament, the Live matches will air on both BBC1 and BBC2.

ALSO READ  Novak Djokovic Defeated Roger Federer In Five Sets To Win Record-breaking Wimbledon Final Match

In order to get highlights through online, the subscribers of Eurosport and Amazon Prime can access to it, the same as last year. The fans of Wimbledon Championships can also watch the interviews and behind-the-scenes action on Wimbledon YouTube channel.

In the US

Like as usual from the past years, ESPN and ESPN2 TV Channel broadcast the event, so this year too ESPN and ESPN2 are going to showcase the 2019 Wimbledon Championships. Timings for the matches are not yet released, but if we talk about the past year, the Men’s Final was started at 2 pm GMT and 9 am in New York (ET), so the timings might be close to this.

2019 Wimbledon Championships: Prize Money

Though the final figures for 2019 Wimbledon Championships are not yet disclosed it is assumed that it might be more than the previous year’s winning prize money. The winners of the men’s and women’s singles titles won £2.25m each, last year.

Here is the table of Prize Money distribution of 2019 Wimbledon Championships:

Event Winners Finalist Semi-Finalist Quarter- Finalist
Singles £2,350,000 £1,175,000 £588,000 £294,000
Doubles* £540,000 £270,000 £135,000 £67,000
Mixed Doubles* £116,000 £58,000 £29,000 £14,500
Wheelchair Singles £46,000 £23,000 £15,000 £10,000
Wheelchair Doubles* £18,000 £9,000 £5,000
Invitation Doubles £27,000 £23,000 £20,000

2019 Wimbledon Championships: Possible Winners

Novak Djokovic, Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal, and Andy Murray are the top possible contenders to win the men’s title. On the other hand for women’s title, Serena Williams, Simona Halep, Naomi Osaka and Karolina Pliskova are the possible contenders to win the title.

ALSO READ  US Open 2019: Date, Time, Venue, How To Watch US Open Tennis –TV Channel & Live Stream

Previous Wimbledon Title Holders

Men’s Singles

  • 2018: Novak Djokovic
  • 2017: Roger Federer
  • 2016: Andy Murray
  • 2015: Novak Djokovic
  • 2014: Novak Djokovic
  • 2013: Andy Murray
  • 2012: Roger Federer
  • 2011: Novak Djokovic
  • 2010: Rafael Nadal
  • 2009: Roger Federer

Women’s Singles

  • 2018: Angelique Kerber
  • 2017: Garbine Muguruza
  • 2016: Serena Williams
  • 2015: Serena Williams
  • 2014: Petra Kvitova
  • 2013: Marion Bartoli
  • 2012: Serena Williams
  • 2011: Petra Kvitova
  • 2010: Serena Williams
  • 2009: Serena Williams
Spread the love